Sunflowers for optimal health!

download.jpg

 

I don’t know about you, but I have all these so called great ideas in my head regarding my next adventure with food.  On a number of occasions I have purchased products to make something and I usually end up throwing out the item because it’s well out of date, I’m sure it happens to others, it’s annoying/ wasteful to say the least!  

Well, after having our evening meal my husband and I like to have a cuppa and a biscuit, sounds real boring, it’s not when you have a nice fire roaring, rain bucketing down outside  and looking at a good movie , relaxing with the person you most admire in your life.  At this time, I have a cup of sage tea as it controls my hot flushes. I don’t know of anyone else that takes it but it does the trick for me.  My husband has a sweet tooth and I’m the opposite, I love my solid “real” foods but sometimes I concur  with his love of these tantalizing biscuits, chocolates sausages and chips etc.  However, I pay the price for my weaknesses, they profoundly affect my  sleep pattern. The next day, I invariably wake up with a headache and my whole system seem out of sync. It takes me one or two days to feel myself again.

So quite recently while looking in the food cupboard I spotted a bag of sunflower seeds, yes, why not, I’ll try to make sunflower butter from them so I can have it on crackers with my cuppa instead of these tantalizing biscuits.  These seeds are full of micro-nutrients  such as Vitamin E, copper, B Vitamins like thiamine, phosphorus, selenium and also provide you with fatty acid in the form of Linoleic acid, which I’m apparently lacking as I have under-active thyroid.,  I have been taking Eltroxin for this condition on a daily basis for a number of years and I was told I’ll be on it for life! But maybe not, as the micro-nutrient selenium supports the thyroid, who really knows?, there is always hope!

 

Now to the recipe!!!!

 

Step one :

 

Put 200g of sunflower seeds into a grinder, (all of this packet) and grind for five to ten minutes depending on the speed of your machine.

photo (13).JPG

From Lidl

 

 

Step two:

Two to three tablespoons of pure olive oil as I want a smooth texture.  Next time making it  I’ll blend the seeds longer, perhaps then I won’t need so much oil.

photo (15).JPG

Next time, less!

 

Step three:

Add two teaspoons of honey, it adds to the taste.

photo (17).JPG

Today’s choice

 

Step four:

Add half a teaspoon of cacao powder to improve colour, ( optional).

 

photo (14).JPG

Love chocolate !

Step five:

Add a teaspoon of sea salt, according to taste.

 

photo (20).JPG

Sea salt, d best.

 

 

Et Voila ! Put it into a plastic/glass container, leave to cool down, then cover it and finally into the refrigerator.

 

 

photo (19).JPG

Appearance!

 

 

Finally, success!, as I have it with crackers instead of indulging in those tantalising biscuits. It’s a great way to get these kind of seeds into your diet as it can be difficult to include them in your daily routine. Just nearly finished it and I’ll be making more of it soon..  Later on I’ll let you know if I change anything in this recipe.  Not too happy with the colour maybe someone out there might be able to help me out with its appearance.

 

 The proof is in the eating !

photo (18).JPG

Delicious !!!!

 

Would love to hear your comments and suggestions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

