Success, no more sodas’!

I’m back again to let you know how my Kombucha fermentation went…

I just couldn’t wait the seven or more days to let it ferment, so, on the fifth day I tasted it. Yes, it was still sweet but I just wanted to bottle it and see what a “SCOBY” looked and felt like in reality.  

I’m usually a very patient person, but somehow this time I couldn’t resist, and with the second fermentation I only gave it three days and opened it. Unfortunately, this time, it only gave a small pop and it wasn’t effervescent but I drank it anyway. My hubby only had a small glass of it, perhaps he was expecting something different!

So, I made my second bottle of Kombucha, now sitting on the kitchen sideboard waiting to be opened on Saturday. This time I’m restraining myself and not repeating the same mistakes. So perhaps my better half will enjoy it more this time.  It’s a great feeling creating this “SCOBY” and trying to make this drink. Perhaps it will take a while to perfect it but I feel I’m on my way to optimal health!

Second try: much more successful, left the first fermentation for 9 days and the second for 5 days.  Amazingly it tasted nicer, it has a zingy taste. We now enjoy a glass of it after our evening meals.

Now onto my next adventure… adding fruit juices to it to vary the taste. I’ll let you know if I hit on something that really has a profound effect on the taste.  

I’ll post some photos of my Kombucha and “SCOBY” shortly. That’s all til next time.

This great video will show you how to make Kombucha, enjoy.

